Bio Organic farming production, which respects the environment and is free of pesticides and transgenic
Vegan It does not contain any ingredient of animal origin
Vegetarian It does not contain animals, but may have derivatives of these such as milk, eggs or honey
Marinoë organic agar-agar is a 100% vegetable gelling agent extracted from the cell walls of the red algae of the genus Gelidium sesquipedale. The Japanese have known about agar agar for several centuries, they use it in their daily cooking.
Its gelling power is eight times greater than that of animal gelatin, so it can easily be replaced and will be particularly suitable for vegetarians. The result obtained is however a little different from that of gelatin: the dosage of agar agar is more subtle and therefore allows more variation in consistencies, ranging from a simple thickener to firm jelly, including the dessert or the mousse. slight. Agar agar does not add any flavor to the preparation, so it is suitable for both sweet and savory preparations.
The major advantage of this product is that it contains very few calories (15kcal / 100g), it is not digested in the stomach and intestines. Japanese women are particularly fond of it in the spring when they begin their annual slimming cure. It is an integral part of the Okinawa Diet, a diet recognized worldwide for having enabled the people of the island of Okinawa, Japan, to live older, healthier and leaner than those on the rest of the planet. Indeed, like all mucilage, agar agar has a strong satiety power. It swells on contact with water and produces a viscous material that will thicken or gel a dish.
It is advisable to dilute the agar-agar powder in a cold liquid before bringing it to the boil for 1-2 min. Let the preparation cool and keep cold for at least 2-3 hours before tasting.
Store in a cool, dry place.
Agar agar extracted from the cell walls of red algae.